Different types of yoga and their benefits

Different types of yoga and their benefits – In recent years, yoga has become popular as a form of physical exercise that promotes better control of the mind and body and enhances well-being. In the modern world, the South Asian art of yoga has expanded to all corners of the globe. Although it is now a popular form of exercise and meditation, it has not always been so.


history of yoga

Yoga has a long history of helping people achieve mental and physical balance. There is no written record of the inventor of yoga. Male yoga practitioners are known as yogis, and female yoga practitioners are called yogis. . ,

Over the next five millennia, yogis passed the discipline on to their students, and many different schools of yoga developed as the practice expanded its global reach and popularity.

The 2,000-year-old “Yoga Sutras” on yoga philosophy by the Indian sage Patanjali, is a guidebook on how to master the mind, control emotions, and grow spiritually. The Yoga Sutras are the earliest written record of yoga and one of the oldest texts in existence and provide the framework for all modern yoga.

history of yoga

Yoga is well known for its postures and poses, but they were not a significant part of the original yoga traditions in India. Fitness was not the primary goal. Seekers and followers of yoga practice focus on other practices, such as expanding spiritual energy using breathing techniques and mental meditation.


Darshan yoga

There are six branches:

Hatha Yoga: This is the physical and mental branch designed to prime the body and mind.

Raj Yoga: This branch involves meditation and strict adherence to a series of disciplinary steps known as the “eight limbs” of yoga.

Karma Yoga: It is a path of service that aims at creating a future free from negativity and selfishness.

Bhakti Yoga: It aims to establish a path of devotion, a positive way to channel emotions and lead to acceptance and tolerance.

Jnana Yoga: This branch of yoga is all about knowledge, the path of scholars, and the development of the intellect through study.

Tantra Yoga: This is the ritual, ceremony or way of consumption of a relationship.

Viewing yoga with a specific goal in mind can help a person decide which branch to follow.


Chakrasan yoga

The word “Chakra” literally means spinning wheel.

When energy becomes blocked in a chakra, it is said to trigger a physical, mental or emotional imbalance, which manifests in symptoms, such as anxiety, lethargy or poor digestion.

Asanas are several physical positions in hatha yoga. People who practice yoga use asanas to release energy and stimulate an unbalanced chakra.

There are seven major chakras, each with its own focus:

Sahasrara: The “thousand-petalled” or “crown” chakra represents a state of pure consciousness. This chakra is located on the crown of the head, and the color white or purple represents it. Sahasrara includes matters of inner wisdom and physical death.

Ajna: The “Command” or “Third-Eye Chakra” is a meeting point between two vital energetic currents in the body. Ajna corresponds to the color violet, indigo or deep blue, although traditional yoga practitioners describe it as white. Anjana Chakra is related to the pituitary gland, which drives growth and development.

Vishuddha: The color red or blue represents the “particularly pure” or “throat” chakra. Abhyasis consider this chakra to be the home of speech, hearing and metabolism.

Anahata: The “Unstructured” or “Heart” chakra is related to the colors green and pink. Major issues associated with Anahata include complex emotions, compassion, tenderness, unconditional love, balance, rejection and well-being.

Manipura: Yellow represents the “Jewel City” or “Navel” chakra. Practitioners associate this chakra with the digestive system as well as a tendency toward personal strength, fear, anxiety, developing thoughts, and an introverted personality.

Chakrasan yoga

Muladhara: The “root support” or “root chakra” is at the base of the spine in the coccygeal region. It is said to include natural urges related to food, sleep, sex and survival, as well as avoidance and fear.

Swavidyadhana: Practitioners claim that the “self-centered” or “pelvic” chakra is home to the reproductive organs, the genitourinary system, and the adrenal gland.


different types of yoga and their benefits

Modern yoga has evolved with a focus on exercise, strength, flexibility and breathing. It can help increase physical and mental well-being.

There are many styles of yoga, and no one is more authentic or superior than the other. The key is to choose a class appropriate for your fitness level.

Types and styles of yoga may include:

Ashtanga Yoga: This type of yoga uses ancient yoga teachings. However, it became popular during the 1970s. Ashtanga implements six established sequences of postures that rapidly link each movement to the breath.

Bikram Yoga: Also known as “hot” yoga, Bikram takes place in an artificially heated room at about 105 degrees and 40 percent humidity. It consists of 26 poses and a sequence of two breathing exercises.

Hatha Yoga: This is a general term for any type of yoga that teaches physical postures. “Hatha” classes usually serve as a gentle introduction to basic yoga postures.

Iyengar Yoga: This type focuses on finding the right alignment in each pose using multiple props such as props, blankets, straps, chairs, and bolsters.

Jivamukti Yoga: Jivamukti means “liberation while alive.” This type emerged in 1984 and incorporates spiritual teachings and practices that focus on the fast-paced flow between poses rather than the poses themselves.

This focus is called Vinyasa. Each class has a topic, which is explored through yoga scriptures, chanting, meditation, asanas, pranayama and music. Jivamukti yoga can be physically intense.

Kripalu Yoga: This type teaches practitioners to know, accept and learn from the body. A student of Kripalu learns to practice his level by looking inward. Classes usually begin with breathing exercises and gentle stretches, followed by a series of individual poses and final relaxation.

Kundalini Yoga: Kundalini means “to be coiled like a snake.” Kundalini yoga is a system of meditation that aims to release pent-up energy.

A class usually begins with chanting and ends with singing. In between, it adapts asanas, pranayama and meditation to produce a specific result.

Power Yoga: In the late 1980s, practitioners developed this active and athletic type of yoga based on the traditional Ashtanga system.

Sivananda: This is a system based on the five-point philosophy. This philosophy states that proper breathing, relaxation, diet, exercise and positive thinking work together to create a healthy yogic lifestyle. Usually one uses the same 12 basic asanas, booked by Surya Namaskar and Savannah asanas.

Appropriation: Appropriation can adapt to any person, regardless of physical ability. Appropriation teachers require intensive training and are experts in anatomy and yoga therapy.

Yin: This is a calming, meditative yoga practice, also known as Taoist yoga. Yin yoga allows the release of tension in major joints, including ankles, knees, hips, entire back, neck, shoulders. Yin poses are passive, meaning that the majority of the force and effort of gravity.

Prenatal Yoga: Prenatal yoga uses postures that practitioners have designed for people who are pregnant. It can support people in getting back in shape after pregnancy as well as support a health-care pregnancy.

Relax Yoga: This is a relaxing form of yoga. A person spends a restrained yoga class in four or five simple poses, using props such as blankets and bolsters to sink into deep relaxation without exhausting any effort to hold the pose.


Leave a Comment